How to solve nasty rattle?

Alfa Romeo GTV6 Forum: Gearbox, Clutch and Driveshaft: How to solve nasty rattle?
By Dennis de Rooy on Unrecorded Date:

Before I took apart my car to restore it all, my gearbox had a nasty rattle. If the clutch was released and the box in neutral it would rattle like a kitchen blender filled with nails.

I need my old cluth as the 75 TS box I bought came without a clutch (wouldn't be wise to keep it with my new 3.0 engine, anyway). I want to get rid of that nasty rattle. Is it in any bearing near the clutch? I need help guys, because I am a gearbox newbie (newbie anything actually).

By dp on Unrecorded Date:

My '84 did the same thing, I think there is a thread somewhere on this forum covering this. I believe it's the throwout bearing - I'd bet Mr. Gordon would know. Greg!?

By Dennis on Unrecorded Date:

Hi dp,

What is a throwout bearing and where is it
located in the gearbox?

By Peter K. on Unrecorded Date:

Slightly increase idle to about 1000RPM's and use a good quality synthetic gear oil,like Castrol TAF-X 75W90,the noise should be (almost) gone, some rattle is considered normal though!

By Vincent on Unrecorded Date:

I thought the idler gear is giving problem with a worn out bearing:) Quite common on Alfa boxes...it disappears when u step on the clutch:)

By keith on Unrecorded Date:

My car is doing the same thing. Only the gearbox has just been rebuilt and a new clutch/release bearing set installed...Very annoying.
I also have been told its a common problem with Alfa. Seems the more wear on the gears and the more overlap on the cams can make the noise louder. (cam overlap gives an uneven idle)
Vincent, are you talking about the reverse idler? Mine measured good on this gear set and the 5th reverse fork was also good.........

The throwout bearing is the bearing which the clutch fork acts upon.

Slave cylinder->adjustment rod->forged fork (pivoting on little ball screw)->throwout bearing.